Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Toro Rosso Back To Ferrari Power for 2016

After the announcement that Renault will return to F1 and Red Bull have partnered with TAG Heuer with their power unit, Toro Rosso have confirmed that they will run with Ferrari Power Units in 2016.

The move has been in the works for some months now and after the FIA approved a rule change to allow Ferrari to supply a previous year specification engine to a team, it was all but confirmed that the team would be Toro Rosso.

Toro Rosso will use Ferrari’s 2015 power units which proved to be an enormous step forward from their 2014 unit. The 2015 Power Unit took Ferrari to 2nd in the Constructors Championship and 3rd and 4th in the drivers championship which Toro Rosso say is “a positive situation in which to start Scuderia Toro Rosso’s eleventh year in Formula 1.”

“It’s great to be working with Ferrari again. We had a fruitful relationship in the past and I’m sure it won’t take long for us all to be working together very well again,” said the Team Boss of Toro Rosso, Franz Tost.

“It’s true that time will be very tight for us to be ready for the first test, but we have the right team of people for this and I’m confident that together we will achieve a competitive package for next year – bring on 2016!”.

Toro Rosso have also confirmed that they will retain their current driver line up of Carlos Sainz Jr. and Max Verstappen for 2016.

“We can also count on Carlos and Max who, after being confirmed for the 2016 season, will be able to translate all this year’s learnings and experience into additional valuable feedback throughout the season.”


Photo credit: Scuderia Toro Rosso Formula 1

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Chinese GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Thursday 22:00Friday 04:00Friday 05:00Friday 10:00
Free Practice 2Friday 02:00Friday 08:00Friday 09:00Friday 14:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 00:00Saturday 06:00Saturday 07:00Saturday 12:00
QualifyingSaturday 03:00Saturday 09:00Saturday 10:00Saturday 15:00
RaceSunday 02:00Sunday 08:00Sunday 09:00Sunday 14:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Sebastian Vettel25
2 Lewis Hamilton18
3 Valtteri Bottas15
4 Kimi Raikkonen12
5 Max Verstappen10
> Full Championship Table