Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Rule Changes Ratified by World Motorsport Council

The FIA World Motorsport Council(WMSC) met on Firday 10 July 2015 in Mexico City, Mexio and ratified some of the adjustments to the F1 regulations put forward by the F1 Strategy Group and approved by the F1 Commission.

Power unit penalties are now much more simpler. Drivers will no more incur any time penalties during the race if a driver is unable to drop further down the grid. This means that as soon as a driver incurring a penalty gets dropped down the grid and reaches last place, that is the position the driver will start in. No further penalties will be applied.

Good news for McLaren and Honda. The WMSC has approved the change to allow new power unit manufacturers one extra power unit per driver. This will be applied retrospectively to Honda.

The above changes will come into effect immediately.

Changes to the Super Licence regulations have also been made. Drivers who obtain a Super Licence but do not have the opportunity to race in F1 will now be able to hold onto the Super Licence for three years. Changes to the points scoring system for a Super Licence have been made. There is now a larger list of racing series included in the Super Licence points system. The winner of the Formula E Championship will now be granted a Super Licence even though the Formula E Championship does not form part of the points system.


About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

One Response to “Rule Changes Ratified by World Motorsport Council”


  1. […] the World Motorport Council(WMSC) meeting on Friday 10 July 2015 the FIA ratified a few rule changes to the F1 season and released a provisional 21 race calendar for […]

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Brazillian GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Friday 03:00Friday 09:00Friday 11:00Friday 13:00
Free Practice 2Friday 07:00Friday 13:00Friday 15:00Friday 17:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 04:00Saturday 10:00Saturday 12:00Saturday 14:00
QualifyingSaturday 07:00Saturday 13:00Saturday 15:00Saturday 17:00
RaceSunday 07:00Sunday 13:00Sunday 15:00Sunday 17:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Lewis Hamilton 🏆331
2 Sebastian Vettel265
3 Valtteri Bottas244
4 Daniel Ricciardo192
5 Kimi Raikkonen163
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: