Categorized | Featured Stories, News

FIA Confirms Biggest Ever F1 Season Calendar for 2016


At the World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) meeting held on Tuesday the FIA confirmed the Formula 1 Calendar for 2016 making it the biggest F1 calendar in the history of the sport with 21 races.

The Mexican Grand Prix was scheduled in the provisional calendar to go back-to-back with the Brazilian Grand Prix. It has now been moved to go back-to-back with the US Grand Prix in Austin. The US Grand Prix is subject to an agreement with the promoter and the sporting authority.

The Azerbaijan Grand Prix is penciled in for 19 June 2016 which is the same day at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The FIA have scheduled the race to avoid any conflict with Le Mans.

The 2016 Calendar features 6 back to back races.

Date City Country
20 March 2016 Melbourne Australia
3 April 2016 Bahrain Bahrain
17 April 2016 Shanghai China
1 May 2016 Sochi Russia
15 May 2016 Barcelona Spain
29 May 2016 Monte Carlo Monaco
12 June 2016 Montreal Canada
19 June 2016 Baku Azerbaijan*
3 July 2016 Spielberg Austria
10 July 2016 Silverstone United Kingdom
24 July 2016 Budapest Hungary
31 July 2016 Hockenheim Germany
28 August 2016 Spa-Francorchamps Belgium
4 September 2016 Monza Italy
18 September 2016 Singapore Singapore
2 October 2016 Sepang Malaysia
9 October 2016 Suzuka Japan
23 October 2016 Austin USA**
30 October 2016 Mexico City Mexico
13 November 2016 Sao Paolo Brazil
27 November 2016 Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race




%d bloggers like this: