Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Caterham’s Mark Smith Announced as Sauber Technical Director

The Sauber F1 Team announced on Wednesday 01 July 2015 that former Caterham Technical Director Mark Smith will join the Hinwil based team in the same capacity.

Smith left Caterham before the team was sold by Tony Fernandez. Before his stint at Caterham he worked at Force India from 2010 to 2011. Prior to working at Force India he worked at Red Bull from 2005 to 2008. He starts his role as Technical Director at Sauber on 13 July 2015.

“When I saw the facilities for the first time in Hinwil,” said Smith. “I immediately realised the possibilities I would have.

“The wind tunnel, the supercomputer and the machine shop – everything is on a very high technical level.”

“And not to forget the competence of the team. These facts were compelling reasons and arguments for me changing to Hinwil.”

“The potential of Sauber is enormous, which is not self-evident in a constantly changing Formula One world. The factory in Hinwil has all the requirements to be competitive in Formula One.”

Sauber Team Principal Monisha Kaltenborn is quite pleased with Smith’s appointment.

“After talks with the technical committee, we have searched for a Technical Director for the Sauber F1 Team – and found Mark,” said Kaltenborn.

“Mark Smith is an engineer with a lot of experience in Formula One. Above all, he knows the environment in which privateer teams must work and the challenges that are there – and how important it is to keep calm and keep things in perspective.”

“With us he finds technical possibilities on a very high level. We wish Mark a good start for which he has our full support.”

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 United States GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Friday 10:00Friday 15:00Friday 17:00Friday 10:00
Free Practice 2Friday 14:00Friday 19:00Friday 21:00Friday 14:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 11:00Saturday 16:00Saturday 18:00Saturday 11:00
QualifyingSaturday 16:00Saturday 21:00Saturday 23:00Saturday 16:00
RaceSunday 14:00Sunday 19:00Sunday 21:00Sunday 14:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Lewis Hamilton306
2 Sebastian Vettel247
3 Valtteri Bottas234
4 Daniel Ricciardo192
5 Kimi Raikkonen148
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: