Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Wehrlein Joins Sauber for 2017

The Sauber F1 Team has completed driver line up by announcing Pascal Wehrlein will partner Marcus Ericsson for the 2017 season.

Wehrlein’s future has been in the balance at the end of the 2016 season. He was in the running for a seat at Force India until Esteban Ocon was announced. A few weeks later Wehrlein’s name was being mentioned with a potential move to Sauber. Mercedes have seen quite a bit of potential in the young German and were keen to keep him in F1. This move to Sauber keeps him in the running for a potential Mercedes drive in the future.

“I am very delighted at being a part of the Sauber F1 Team for the upcoming Formula One Season. It is a new challenge in a new team, and I am really excited and looking forward to this new adventure,” said Wehrlein.

“Our objective is to establish ourselves in the mid-field and to score points on a regular basis. That being said, I will do my best to support Sauber.

“Now I am looking forward to meeting everyone in the team and to tackling the preparations for the 2017 season.

“I want to say a big thank you to Sauber for trusting in me and giving me this great chance. And surely, a huge thanks also goes to Mercedes for the support.”

Monisha Kaltenborn, Team Principal had the following to say about Wehrlein’s move to Sauber:
“We are very pleased to confirm Pascal Wehrlein as our second race driver for the 2017 Formula One World Championship.

“Pascal has shown his talent throughout his career – in single seater racing as well as in the DTM.

“Last year in his rookie Formula One season, he proved his potential by scoring one point in the Austrian GP in Spielberg.

“There is surely more to come from Pascal, and we want to give him the chance to further grow and learn at the pinnacle of motorsport.

“I am confident Marcus and Pascal will form a solid combination for 2017.”

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Australian GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Thursday 20:00Friday 01:00Friday 03:00Friday 12:00
Free Practice 2Friday 00:00Friday 05:00Friday 07:00Friday 16:00
Free Practice 3Friday 22:00Saturday 03:00Saturday 05:00Saturday 14:00
QualifyingSaturday 01:00Saturday 06:00Saturday 08:00Saturday 17:00
RaceSunday 00:00Sunday 05:00Sunday 07:00Sunday 16:00

2016 Drivers Championship

1 Nico Rosberg🏆385
2 Lewis Hamilton380
3 Daniel Ricciardo256
4 Sebastian Vettel212
5 Max Verstappen204
> Full Championship Table