Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Formula One teams take a stand to save F1 qualifying

Australian GP F1 Qualifying - Toto Wolff, Mercedes AMG Petronas

All eleven Formula One teams have taken a stand against the proposed aggregate F1 qualifying format, as well as the current elimination style F1 qualifying format, in a letter to F1 bosses.

It is reported that teams have unanimously demanded that the sport reverts to the 2015 F1 season qualifying format in an effort to do what they consider to be in the best interests of F1 fans and the sport in general.

The letter was sent F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone, commercial rights holders CVC Capital Partners, and to FIA president Jean Todt. In the letter, teams unanimously reject the aggregate F1 qualifying format which was proposed at a meeting in Bahrain on Sunday between the teams, Ecclestone, Todt, and Pirelli motorsport director Paul Hembery.

Thusfar, Todt and Ecclestone have stood firm on their opinion that reverting to the F1 qualifying format used from the 2006 – 2015 Formula One seasons and have refused to put it back on the table to be voted upon. Both believe that since teams voted the current elimination style F1 qualifying format in, they will have to continue with it, or come up with an alternative solution. This despite the added opposition from drivers and F1 fans since the knockout format was introduced.

Given the strong opposition on both sides, it would seem we will be stuck with the elimination format for the Chinese Grand Prix, unless either side changes their position before the race weekend.

There has been no comment from Todt, Ecclestone, or CVC Capital following receipt of the letter as yet.

About Adele Groenendaal

Some say she's Murray Walker's illegitimate offspring. Others say she was a right wheel-gunner for the Lotus F1 team. All we know is Adele has high octane fuel running through her veins and Formula One is her passion. Follow Adele on Twitter @aprilrain500

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Malaysian GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Thursday 22:00Friday 03:00Friday 05:00Friday 11:00
Free Practice 2Friday 02:00Friday 07:00Friday 09:00Friday 15:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 02:00Saturday 10:00Saturday 08:00Saturday 14:00
QualifyingSaturday 04:00Saturday 09:00Saturday 11:00Saturday 17:00
RaceSunday 02:00Sunday 07:00Sunday 09:00Sunday 15:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Lewis Hamilton263
2 Sebastian Vettel235
3 Valtteri Bottas212
4 Daniel Ricciardo162
5 Kimi Raikkonen138
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: