Categorized | Featured Stories, News

2015 Abu Dhabi GP: Rosberg Fastest in Third Practice

Nico Rosberg finished fastest in the 3rd Free Practice session for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Despite saying that he will be down on power this weekend. Rosberg set a time of 1:41.856 on the super soft tyres to go 0.281s faster than Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton. Hamilton struggled to get in a clean lap on the options after running wide at Turn 6. He managed to get close but seemed to be loosing time in the middle sectors.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel managed 3rd fastest with Force India’s Sergio Perez finishing in 4th ahead of Kimi Raikkonen. Perez, who finished well in FP2, seems to have a good feel for the track and could pull a surprise in Qualifying.

Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo ended the session in 6th place. Team-mate Daniil Kvyat did not set a time in the session after an electrical problem was discovered on his car. The Red Bull mechanics managed to get him back out on track, but the problem persisted. He was then told that they will not be able to fix the problem.

Nico Hulkenberg was 7th in the other Force India ahead of the Williams pair of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas in P9 and P10 respectively.

Carlos Sainz in the Toro Rosso had a good session and was up to 6th place after all the runs on the soft tyre were completed. He set his best time of 1:43.429 on the super soft tyres which earned him 10th. Jenson Button in the Mclaren was 11th.

Pastor Maldonado ended the session in 12th ahead of Sauber’s Felipe Nasr in 13th, Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen in 14th and team-mate Romain Grosjean in 15th who complained that the car was undrivable for most of the session.

Fernando Alonso was down in 16th place with Marcus Ericsson in 17th. The two Manor cars of Stevens and Merhi in 18th and 19th respectively.

Pos. Driver Team Best Time Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:41.856
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:42.137 0.281
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:42.185 0.329
4 Sergio Perez Force India 1:42.448 0.592
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:42.627 0.771
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:42.726 0.870
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:42.859 1.003
8 Felipe Massa Williams 1:43.173 1.317
9 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:43.429 1.383
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:43.429 1.573
11 Jenson Button McLaren 1:43.508 1.652
12 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:43.680 1.824
13 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:43.718 1.862
14 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:43.826 1.970
15 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:43.928 2.072
16 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:44.014 2.158
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:47.283 2.469
18 Will Stevens Manor 1:47.283 5.427
19 Roberto Merhi Manor 1:47.520 5.664
20 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull No Time

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Hungarian GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Friday 03:00Friday 09:00Friday 10:00Friday 10:00
Free Practice 2Friday 08:00Friday 13:00Friday 14:00Friday 14:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 04:00Saturday 10:00Saturday 11:00Saturday 11:00
QualifyingSaturday 08:00Saturday 13:00Saturday 14:00Saturday 14:00
RaceSunday 08:00Sunday 13:00Sunday 14:00Sunday 14:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Sebastian Vettel177
2 Lewis Hamilton176
3 Valtteri Bottas154
4 Daniel Ricciardo117
5 Kimi Raikkonen98
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: