Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Frédéric Vasseur Announced as Sauber Team Principal

The Sauber Formula One Team has announced Frédéric Vasseur as their new Team Principal following the departure of Monisha Kaltenborn last month.

Vasseur, who was the former Renault team boss, will start his role at Sauber from 17 July 2017. That means the Sauber team will be without a team principal for the British Grand Prix.

“I’m very proud to be joining Sauber Motorsport AG, and wish to thank the company’s shareholders for their trust in me,” said Vasseur on his appointment.

“I’ve been impressed by the facilities in Hinwil and by the talent and ambition of the workforce, and I very much look forward to complementing the team with my experience and determination and drive all people in the right direction in everything they do: I am convinced that all together we will achieve ambitious targets.

“I cannot wait to start working with our drivers, engineers and all the staff. I look forward to contributing to the next important phase in the development of the team.”

Vasseur’s appointment comes just when reports are emerging that the Honda engine deal for 2018 has been cancelled by Honda. Initial reports are saying that the deal was cancelled after Kaltenborn left the team. If true, it leaves Sauber without engines for next season.

The cancellation of the Honda deal and with Vassuer being appointed may lead to Sauber acquiring Renault engines from 2018. Vassuer, undoubtedly still has ties to his former Enstone team and a Renault engine deal does seem to make sense.

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 United States GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Friday 10:00Friday 15:00Friday 17:00Friday 10:00
Free Practice 2Friday 14:00Friday 19:00Friday 21:00Friday 14:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 11:00Saturday 16:00Saturday 18:00Saturday 11:00
QualifyingSaturday 16:00Saturday 21:00Saturday 23:00Saturday 16:00
RaceSunday 14:00Sunday 19:00Sunday 21:00Sunday 14:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Lewis Hamilton306
2 Sebastian Vettel247
3 Valtteri Bottas234
4 Daniel Ricciardo192
5 Kimi Raikkonen148
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: