Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Force India’s VJM10 Breaks Cover

The Sahara Force India Formula One team launched their 2017 contender, the VJM10, today at the Silverstone Circuit.

With all the sponsors and media around the two driver for Force India, Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon, pulled off the covers off the VJM10. The car cuts an imposing figure with it’s low and wide stance.

“I can’t remember being more excited ahead of a new season,” said Force India Team Principal Vijay Mallya.

“The VJM10 looks aggressive and purposeful, and is the result of a huge effort behind the scenes over the last twelve months,” he added.

Mallya hit back at Renault Team Principal Cyril Abiteboul saying: “It’s not the amount of weapons but the quality in your armory!”

Force India have targeted a top 3 finish in the constructors championship this season after a very strong 4th place finish in 2016.

“This year the cars are completely new and nothing can be carried over from previous years,” explained Chief Operating Officer, Otmar Szafnauer.

“Although we have completely new aerodynamics on the VJM10, it’s fair to say that our aero philosophy is very similar to 2015 and 2016.”

Talking about the technical challenge of designing the 2017 car, Technical Director Andrew Green said that his team was under no illusions in designing the 2017 car and that it was a steep learning curve for them.

“It’s definitely a big overhaul; one that requires a change in mentality,” said Green.

“It took a bit of time to adjust at first, but we are there now and I am confident we know where to look and where the performance is coming from with this car.

“The development slope is incredibly steep and we are going to see significant updates to the cars at regular intervals, right from the start; it’s going to be big updates and I don’t think development will start to taper off any time soon.”


Photo credit: Sahara Force India Formula One Team

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Mexica GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Friday 10:00Friday 15:00Friday 17:00Friday 10:00
Free Practice 2Friday 14:00Friday 19:00Friday 21:00Friday 14:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 10:00Saturday 15:00Saturday 17:00Saturday 10:00
QualifyingSaturday 13:00Saturday 18:00Saturday 20:00Saturday 13:00
RaceSunday 13:00Sunday 18:00Sunday 20:00Sunday 13:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Lewis Hamilton331
2 Sebastian Vettel265
3 Valtteri Bottas244
4 Daniel Ricciardo192
5 Kimi Raikkonen163
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: