Categorized | Featured Stories, News

F1 2017: Bahrain Gp – Bottas Snatches First Ever Pole

Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas secured the first pole position of his career ahead of the 2017 Bahrain grand prix.

The Finnish driver snatched pole from teammate Lewis Hamilton by a scant 23 thousands of a second while Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel trailed four tenths behind in third. Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo delivered a brilliant lap quick enough for fourth while Kimi Raikkonen and Max Verstappen rounded out the top six.

Renault driver Nico Hulkenberg delivered a stunning lap for Renault and will start the race in seventh overall. Meanwhile, Felipe Massa will start eighth ahead of Romain Grosjean’s Haas in ninth. The second Renault of Jolyon Palmer completed a great quali session of Renault with the tenth quickest time.

Fernando Alonso and his McLaren have been consigned to the back of the grid after the Spaniard suffered a MGU-H failure. As a result of this failure the ICE (Internal combustion engine) also necessitates a change, hence the drop to the back of the field. Carlos Sainz, on course to make it into the third part of qualifying, suffered an as yet unknown failure on his Toro Rosso and will start from sixteenth place.


About Natalie Le Clue

Natalie Le Clue is an F1 aficionado of the most dedicated vein. And, true to form for any F1-enamoured junkie, she readily admits to crying the first time she saw a F1 car, calling it an ‘overwhelming moment’. Natalie has won the 2010 gSport Woman In Media award, the 2015 Woman In Media Print award, and has been named as one of the Top 100 Most Influential People in South African Sport by the Department of Sport and Recreation. Natalie is currently serving as SAfm's F1 correspondent. Follow Natalie on Twitter @nlc27

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Brazillian GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Friday 03:00Friday 09:00Friday 11:00Friday 13:00
Free Practice 2Friday 07:00Friday 13:00Friday 15:00Friday 17:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 04:00Saturday 10:00Saturday 12:00Saturday 14:00
QualifyingSaturday 07:00Saturday 13:00Saturday 15:00Saturday 17:00
RaceSunday 07:00Sunday 13:00Sunday 15:00Sunday 17:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Lewis Hamilton 🏆331
2 Sebastian Vettel265
3 Valtteri Bottas244
4 Daniel Ricciardo192
5 Kimi Raikkonen163
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: