Categorized | Featured Stories, News

Engine Penalties for Red Bull and Toro Rosso

Red Bull are set to make a double engine change on both their drivers’ cars ahead of the Italian Grand Prix race on Sunday while Toro Rosso will make a tactical engine change.

This double engine change comes after Renault, the engine supplier for Red Bull and Toro Rosso, revealed that their updated engine which was expected at the Russian Grand Prix will only make an appearance at the American Grand Prix in Austin, Texas.

Since the engine component penalty rule was changed after the Austrian Grand Prix, drivers will no longer have to carry remaining grid drops into a race. McLaren took full advantage of this in Belgium when they made a double engine change for both their drivers after Free Practice 1 and Free Practice 2. This was done to ensure that McLaren would not have to take any more penalties later in the season and that they have three relatively new power units available to them.

Following Renault’s news, Red Bull have decided to employ the same strategy. This move ensures the team will have enough healthy components to last them till the end of the season should the updated engine fail to materialize in Austin.

Toro Rosso_Italy 2014

After Free Practice 1, Red Bull fitted Ricciardo’s car with its 6th engine(10-place drop), 5th turbo(5-place drop), 5th MGU-H(5-place drop) and 5th MGU-K(5-place drop) while Kvyat’s car was fitted with a 6th engine and 5th turbo. Red Bull are expected to fit their 7th engines to their cars before free practice 3. This brings Ricciardo’s total grid penalty to 35-places and Kvyat’s to 25-places.

Toro Rosso Rosso who had to make a change to Carloz Sainz’s engine after Free Practice 1 made a second tactical change after Free Practice 2. This will drop the Spaniard down 20 places while his team mate Max Verstappen will drop 10-places.


Photo credit: Inifini Red Bull Racing Formula One Team, Scuderia Toro Rosso Formula 1

About Ritesh K Bhana

Ritesh likes to think he is a true Tifosi, but he still remains fair to other teams. He supports two other teams which are not Red Bull and McLaren. Follow Ritesh on twitter @Humanshield_1

Leave a Reply

twitter-2   facebook   rss 

Countdown to Next Race


2017 Azerbaijan GP Broadcast Times

Free Practice 1Friday 04:00Friday 10:00Friday 11:00Friday 13:00
Free Practice 2Friday 08:00Friday 16:00Friday 15:00Friday 17:00
Free Practice 3Saturday 05:00Saturday 11:00Saturday 12:00Saturday 14:00
QualifyingSaturday 08:00Saturday 14:00Saturday 15:00Saturday 17:00
RaceSunday 08:00Sunday 14:00Sunday 15:00Sunday 17:00

2017 Drivers Championship

1 Sebastian Vettel141
2 Lewis Hamilton129
3 Valtteri Bottas93
4 Kimi Raikkonen73
5 Daniel Ricciardo67
> Full Championship Table



%d bloggers like this: